Have your say on Lane Cove Plaza

Posted: October 29th, 2012 | Filed under: Announcements, General

Council is inviting residents to participate in a survey about the next stage of the Lane Cove Plaza upgrade (Stage 2).

Your feedback will help inform Council on how to improve public amenity from outdoor seating areas to the Plaza’s overall look and feel.

You can complete the survey online http://survey.lanecove.nsw.gov.au/survey/TakeSurvey.aspx?PageNumber=1&SurveyID=m80M8m6&Preview=true

Submissions close 28 November, 2012

Department of Planning’s response re: LEP Finalisation

Posted: October 29th, 2012 | Filed under: Announcements, Current Issues, Mowbray Precinct
Lane Cove Council considered the Department of Planning’s response regarding the finalisation of the Mowbray Precinct at their meeting on 15 October.
You will recall that on 16 April this year, Council endorsed the exhibited LEP for the Mowbray Precinct but adopted amendments to three particular sites from the exhibited LEP
  • To re-zone 46-60 Gordon Crescent from single dwelling to R4 high density
  • To re-zone 15 Centennial Ave from single dwelling to R4 high density
  • To re-zone 8-14 Mindarie St from R4 high density to single dwelling
The Department of Planning, in a letter to Council on 28 September, recommended the LEP be gazetted in accordance with the LEP public exhibition that occured from January-March 2012, i.e withouth the above amendments.  The Council discussed these proposed changes with the Department and they agreed to allow to all three sites to be zoned R4 high density.
The Councillors discussed this zoning in their meeting of 15 Ocotber and the following is the resolution as noted in the Council minutes Read the rest of this entry »

2012 AGM meeting & new SBCRA Committee

Posted: October 29th, 2012 | Filed under: Announcements, General, Mowbray Precinct, Newsletter

The SBCRA AGM was held on 18 October and members were treated to a moving video and slide show of the Batten Reserve presented by Danielle Akayan.

The photography of the Batten Reserve and its stunning flora and fauna by Matthew Syres is amazing and reinforced the unique beauty of this special bushland area.

The complete collection of Matthew’s Batten Reserve photograph, including the Batten Reserve collection,  can be found on his website   http://matthewsyres.photoshelter.com/gallery-collection/Stock-Photography/C0000SwqH_PGkosg

Frances Vissel did a presentation of the year in review and the year ahead. Much of this focussed on issues arising from the Mowbray Precinct, but also included other comunity work that the SBCRA is involved in including twice monthly bush generation in the Batten Reserve, addressing traffic and safety issues with Council, engaging with the NSW Government’s Planning Review and organising community events such as Clean Up Australia Day.

Elections for the Committee for 2012/13 were held and the roles and Committee members for the year ahead will be held by

  • President – Frances Vissel
  • Vice President – Kylie Bryden-Smith
  • Treasurer & Memberships – Jack Winning
  • Minute Secretary – Alasdair Stuart
  • Committee – Guy Hallowes, Win Chandler, Leah Bangma

For further information on the AGM or to contact the Committee members email us on contact@sbcra.org.au or for membership inquiries membership@sbcra.org.au